Useful Links

Useful Links

Key Stage 4

Derby Pride Academy encourages pupils to achieve Level 2 outcomes in order to open a variety of pathways for their future.

Pupils will study:

  • GCSE English Language

  • GCSE English Literature

  • GCSE Mathematics

  • GCSE Science

  • GCSE Media
  • GCSE Art & Design

  • GCSE Citizenship
  • CACHE Level 2 Childcare

  • BTEC Level 1/2 First Award in Travel and Tourism.
  • OCR Level 1/2 Cambridge National Certificate in in Sport Science

  • TLM Level 1 Certificate in IT User Skills in Open Systems and Enterprise (ITQ) 
  • Careers Information, Advice & Guidance and Religious Education

  • Personal Development

Although not offered as a separate subject, Religious Education is delivered as part of the Personal Development programme in all year groups.

In order to allow pupils to access qualifications in subjects previously studied in their mainstream school (but not offered at Derby Pride Academy), some pupils may be disapplied from some subjects in order to undertake supervised independent study.

There is a strong focus on Functional Skills in English and Maths as we know our local providers either require this for post-16 destinations or will offer this as part of the course for those who do not achieve the required GCSE grades. Early entry for these exams has a positive impact on self-esteem and builds confidence that extends to GCSEs.

All subjects will identify barriers established whilst in mainstream education; using experiences from our core body of staff, we will draw on knowledge to identify strategies to support pupils in accessing all areas of the curriculum. Individual learning styles are addressed, further assisting in over-coming barriers once faced in a mainstream setting.